Greenhouse Restaurant (Landmark Hotel)

28 Jul

Greenhouse Restaurant Logo 138  Sukhumvit Road (Nana BTS), Tel. 02-254-0404, Website: www.landmarkbangkok.com

Rating: 4/10

Overview: Centrally located and close to a BTS station, this place is easy to get to. There are two seating options, inside and outside. For this visit, I took a seat outside; I Greenhouse Exteriorfigured I could use a little “fresh” air, and it was a relatively nice day out (no rain and not overly humid). The tables outside are covered and there are a number of fans that blow a light mist out over the area. I took my seat and gave the menu a quick once over and found the burgers – they have 4 on offer: veggie, chicken, beef and lamb. I asked the served about the size of the patty and origin of the beef and he quickly replied “Australian Wagyu”. I asked if he was sure, and he said that he would check again. Turned out to be 200g of imported Australian beef, but not Wagyu. I put my order in and waited.

Beef Burger: THB 330- (US $11.00)

“200g Australian beef patty, lettuce, tomato, onion, cucumber, bacon and cheese on a sesame seed bun.”

Greenhouse Beef BurgerI have to admit, prior to eating here, I had high expectations. I heard that the burger here was good, and I was looking forward to giving it a try. Unfortunately for me, it wasn’t. From the very beginning, things started to go wrong. There was only one beef burger on the menu – with the toppings listed above (with optional mushrooms), but when they brought me my burger it had an egg on it and none of the other toppings. I thought this was a little strange because I had a conversation with the waiter about what I specifically wanted on the burger … and an egg wasn’t even an option. Anyway, they took it away and 10 minutes later they Greenhouse Beef Burger Cutbrought me another one. I’m not sure if it was the same patty or not, but the one they gave me looked a bit hard and dry. As for the way it tasted … not good. It was extremely salty and sour. I’ve never had a sour burger before, and I hope to never have one again. Salty and sour aside, I found a few big chunks of grizzle and a piece of bone in it. It’s like they wanted to make this experience a bad one. The bun and the bacon were the only good things on this burger, and that’s not saying much. The Verdict: The longer I think about it, the more I dislike this burger. Definitely not the best burger in Bangkok.

Other:

Serving Time: apx 30 min

Parking: yes

Open 24 hrs

2 Responses to “Greenhouse Restaurant (Landmark Hotel)”

  1. Will August 29, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    hmmm……..strangely, I had pretty good experiences there. I think the patty and the buns are the same as the one at Huntsman’s Pub (in the basement floor of The Landmark). But the toppings are different.

    • BK_Hamburgler August 29, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

      That’s good to hear. I couldn’t imagine them selling many burgers if they were all like the one I had. I’m glad your experience was better. I will have to make it over to the Huntsman sometime.

Leave a comment